Some last thoughts before I go weightless

I miss my family but I am enjoying every minute of this experience. I have meet some very wonderful people both at NASA and DOE.

Couple weird things about Texas. You can buy beer in a fast food restaurant or just about any where else. Carry a gun.

NASA takes safety very seriously.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank my family for letting me spend 10 days away from them. I know they miss me and they are doing their best to take care of each other while I am away. My son, TJ, told me tonight that he had to comfort Will because he was missing me. How does one explain to a 7 year old that this is an opportunity of a lifetime when I am his whole world?

I would also like to thank the Space Cowboy team. You all have made this fun yet we got the job done! Especially The Sheriff for keeping us on track and focused and my Roomie Deputy for giving me endless laughs and texts. D-dub you rock too. I am going to find it hard to go cold turkey from you guys.

I thank my school district, Matawan Aberdeen,  Superintendent Dave Healy, and Principal Tyler Blackmore for supporting me in this endeavor.

But the person and his groups that I owe the most to is Andrew “Smithers” Zwicker, PPPL and DOE.  Andrew put this together and has known I have been bugging him since last year to include me in this remarkable experience. And he did. I feel honored and blessed to be a part of something so great. I am going weightless tomorrow. I can’t believe it. Thanks for giving me an experience of a lifetime to bring back to my students, from going through the experimental design process, to doing ‘real’ science, to flying in microgravity.

I may not blog right away after the flight. I will have the anti nausea drugs in me for about 4-6 hours. They are ‘uppers’ and ‘downers’. I may not be in a condition to write.  However, I take off at 10am EST. I will be done by noon EST. Prayers during that time. BTW Im not nervous. I am excited but not nervous or scared. Pictures will definitely follow!!

About Hillyer

I'm a passionate 7th grade science teacher looking to inspire others.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Some last thoughts before I go weightless

  1. Kathy says:

    Awesome, Pat…just totally awesome. Enjoy every moment!

Leave a Reply

