My comfort zone is changing! YIKES

I attended an edcamp for the first time yesterday.  EdcampSTEAM. I really thought I was too type A to do this. After all, you go to edcamp and have no idea what topics will be covered…. I’m a planner. I like to know. I have been in a few instances lately that have taken me out of my comfort zone… this was no exception.

I went to great sessions and met some wonderful people. A few whom I will rely on for ideas! One particular teacher uses Minecraft to teach his students! Dan Curcio teaches in North Jersey. I went to his session on using Minecraft in the science classroom and I love it! I loved his ‘maker’ outlook on the class and I can’t wait to use Minecraft in my own classroom. He’s an inspiring teacher!

Another teacher is starting her own STEAM class.  I tried Google Glass…fantastic! Made things in the Maker Lab. Looked at Google Classroom…. I’m ready to start school….. well I have some planning to do… I can’t get rid of my type A personality…. still need to plan!!! These plans are excited and inspiring… and I’m ready for my new students.

About Hillyer

I'm a passionate 7th grade science teacher looking to inspire others.
This entry was posted in edcamp, Science Ed, Teaching. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

