Best Job in the World

I just found out that one of my former students just came in 4th in the International Brain Bee. I feel like a proud momma! There is just such pride in knowing this young man, seeing him grow and feeling like I just may have a small part in this!
This isn’t the first time I’ve had this feeling. I have had the pleasure of getting to know my former students as adults on Facebook. I can see how my ‘finished’ product winds up. I have a student that started his own companies, one who just took the Bar exam, a student who became a professor… just to name a few. I found that one of my former students went into education and did his practicum in my daughter’s class….I love when my students come back to visit me and tell me they are doing well (except not when they are cutting study hall, you all know who you are!!!).

I am excited that I was just invited to one of my first class’ 20th high school reunion…. what an honor!!!

You see in this job you don’t always get to see how your students turn out… so it is always exciting for me to hear about my former ‘kids’. They always make me proud… and make teaching the best job in the world.

About Hillyer

I'm a passionate 7th grade science teacher looking to inspire others.
This entry was posted in Teaching, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

