Destine for greatness

We had a moment if silence in class the other for the victims of 9/11. As a teacher I recounted to them what happened that day at our school. Some of my 7th graders had not yet been born, some where only months old. One student told me, he was there. He survived. He was not born yet but he was still in his mother’s womb when she was at the World Trade Center when the planes hit.
I couldn’t believe it. One of my students was there that day. I asked him how he felt about that. The fact that he survived the attacks…. I don’t think he ever thought about it that way. I told him the fact that he survived, he was born for greatness. I could see him smile. Destine for greatness. We are all here for greatness. To make this world better. To impact others in a positive way. How are you going to make that difference today? What are you going to do to make this word better? What is your greatness?

About Hillyer

I'm a passionate 7th grade science teacher looking to inspire others.
This entry was posted in Teaching and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Destine for greatness

  1. Cory Radisch says:

    Pat..well said..”I believe in you” can be the four most powerful words in someone’s life.

Leave a Reply

