I want to #BeLikeBen

So it has been awhile since I blogged. I always want to make it meaningful…

THURSDAY 11/12/15

#belikeben

#belikeben

This is my first NSTA Regional Convention! I’ve been to a few National Conventions but this is my first Regional. AND I’M HERE DOING TWO PRESENTATIONS.

Hey Philly!! IMG_0575

 

I am meeting so many wonderful people. So many positive people in the field. I miss my students but  will have so much to share with them.

IMG_0580 IMG_0582

The first presentation started out as one of those, it was a good idea at the time. I haven’t done my second presentation yet, so we will see if that is the same…

IMG_0572

I presented This Efficient House. It is a modified version of the shoebox project. I wanted to do a hands on presentation but I knew it was hard to bring shoeboxes to modify. The bad news was I only had an hour. The other bad news was it was raining. And the next bad news was I had 5 boxes to move about a mile, across a street, up two different elevators… by myself. I did it though.

The presentation was great. The teachers loved it. Of course all my project based learning lessons go back to my zero-g trip. Great PD, life changing. Why it became important to do real science…. everything goes back to that. I can only give my teachers in my class a small portion of that experience. I wish I had more time.

IMG_0583 IMG_0584 IMG_0585

 

 

 

About Hillyer

I'm a passionate 7th grade science teacher looking to inspire others.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

